Comment Policy

All comments to posts have to await approval. Please be aware that, depending on when I'm logged onto the internet, it may take me hours, even longer, to moderate comments, so if they don't turn up in a speedy fashion, they are still in the queue. Comments that cross a line I'm not comfortable with will not get approved. NOTE: Comments reflect the opinions of the person writing them and should not be assumed to reflect the opinion of the blog.

Monday, September 14, 2009

Let's Not Forget the Shameless 29

Christine Quinn, Bloomberg's partner in screwing New Yorkers, is up for reelection this year. In 2007, she was quoted as saying: "I am today taking a firm and final position. I will not support the repeal or change of term limits through any mechanism, and I will oppose aggressively any attempt by anyone to make any changes in the term limits law." The following year she, along with Mayor-for-Life Bloomberg, led the impetus to overturn term limits. As you can guess, Quinn is running for her third term.

Alan Gerson represents a district, the Lower East Side, that is closest to Stuy Town. He's up for reelection and also should be booted out for going against the will of the people by voting to overturn term limits. Yes, he's also running for his third term. Stuy Town's City Councilman, Dan Garodnick, is also up for reelection, but voted against extending term limits. Dan is running for his second term.

* * * *

Tomorrow is the Democratic Primary. Below are the City Council members who voted to overturn the city's two-term limit rule that had been twice approved by the citizens of New York City. This list is taken from New York One. An asterisk before a name indicates someone who would have been out of office next year if the two-term rule was still in effect. I'm not forgetting Mayor-for-Life Mike Bloomberg, who led the charge to overturn voters' wishes, but I'll be dealing with Mike in a future blog entry. If any of these guys and gals is running in tomorrow's Democratic Primary, the citizens, to maintain their dignity, should vote for someone else. You can already scratch Miguel Martinez from the list, as he resigned in July when the heat got too intense on his activities of diverting public funds for private profit. (Martinez is scheduled to be sentenced October 21.)

Maria del Carmen Arroyo
*Maria Baez
*Leroy Comrie
Inez Dinkens
*Erik Martin Dilan
*Simcha Felder
*Lewis Fidler
*Helen Foster
*Alan Gerson
Sara Gonzalez
*Robert Jackson
*Melinda Katz
*G. Oliver Koppell
*Miguel Martinez
Darlene Mealy
*Michael Nelson
*Christine Quinn
*Domenic Recchia
*Diana Reyna
*Joel Rivera
*James Sanders
*Larry Seabrook
*Helen Sears
*Kendall Stewart
James Vacca
*Al Vann
*Peter Vallone, Jr
Tom White
*David Yassky

Check out the You're a Disgrace, Mayor Bloomberg website for further info.

No comments: